Well hello there, life change!

Wow! Who would’ve thought I’d be writing this blog a year ago? So crazy to think how your life can change so much in 1 year! Talk about wild!

I’m really excited, and just a little bit nervous and scared, to announce something to you. Quite a few of you know what I’m going to say, and quite a few of you don’t. But it probably won’t surprise you. You see…I’m about to embark on a crazy adventure called The World Race. It’s not the Amazing Race (it’s better!), not even really a race, but it is a trip around the world…11 countries in 11 months! Can you say WOWZA???

I first discovered this on July 7 (see, I even remember the date!?!?!) and was hooked from that very moment until this very day. Now it’ll be with me for a lifetime. It’s for 21-35 year olds…and its an 11-month long mission trip. See the world, experience all sorts of different people, cultures and places…learn how each missionary and missions organization does things differently, get stretched out of my comfort zone, strengthen my faith, get loads and loads of Holy Spirit goodness…and that’s just scratching the surface of all that’s in store. How do I know?

Well…there are these little things called World Race blogs that I’ve read every day since July 7. I know, I’m a little crazy at times. But I told you I was hooked, and I can’t get enough! You see, every World Racer has a blog. They get to tell the world about their experiences, their struggles, what they’re doing, where they are, their adventures, how they’re growing and changing, etc. So naturally I will get to do this soon, too (here’s a link to my very own World Race blog :)). But I’ve been reading these blogs for months now, and they’re crazy awesome. Real, down-to-earth, human experiences. Super encouraging. So anyway. I would highly encourage you to read some of these in your spare time.

But yes. I just received word that I was accepted. I applied on Dec 2, had my interview Dec 8, and found out Dec 15 that I’m in. That’s lightning fast! It’s been a whirlwind–and I’m really, honestly not 100% sure how I feel about everything yet. It’s a strange mixture of nervousness and excitedness (I think I just made up a word :-P). There’s a lot of other awesome God-stuff to tell you about, but in short, I’ve known for a while that this is something He wants me to do. There’s so much goodness in store, and I know it won’t be easy–it means leaving family and friends for 11 months, it means probably painful life-change and a lot of constant adjustments, it means being uncomfortable and tired all the time. But it also means stepping out and growing into who God wants me to be. This is something, a stepping stone, that I’ve been looking for for some time now…waiting for, wondering about, wishing for. But never for sure knowing what it would look like. The World Race is going to be a launching pad for me into full-time missions. My heart knows this. God has revealed some things to me and confirmed them in quite a few very obvious ways lately…and I know this is just the beginning.

It’s going to mean a lot of changes, and it’s going to mean I don’t get to see all of you wonderful people for a while, but I know you’ll be okay, and I’ll be okay, too. God’s on our side, who can be against us?! Big things are in store for all of us!

So, just briefly, I’ll let you in on what I know so far.

  • I’ll leave in September 2012.
  • I have to raise $15,500.
  • I’ll be going to Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam/Laos, Tanzania, Mozambique, Swaziland, Haiti, the Dominican Republic, Moldova, Romania, and Ireland. (check out more details of my route here)

This was all part of why I decided to go. I was in love with the World Race, or more so, the idea of it. I love to travel…want to see the world…love missions…love God…perfect, right? Well…I just wasn’t for sure yet. So, I prayed one of these prayers. “God, if you want me to go on the World Race, you know the countries I want to go to, so I’ll know that I’m supposed to go when I see them all on the same route.” Haha! I should’ve been more prepared. When the September routes were announced, I remember taking a deep breath before I read the email, because I had a hunch that God just might be calling me to one in September (but I didn’t tell anyone this, because I wasn’t sure). So…I opened the email. And started laughing. Because voila…there it was. My route. Totally meant for me. I should’ve known. God, you’re funny!

So then I hemmed and hawed and prayed and thought and prayed some more about it all…anxious because I’d need to quit my job, but knowing this is exactly perfect for me with where I’m at right now. The opportunities are endless. And God kept after me, whispering to me to “just do it.” I finally had to forget all the wondering and the emotions and just simply “do it.” Stop wondering about what I know now or don’t know and just go for it. So I did. And now I’m here. Writing this blog, a little overwhelmed, a tad excited and sad and a puddle of random emotions…but relieved at the same time to be able to step out of my comfortable Minnesota bubble and do what I’ve been dreaming about doing for a long time now. Travel the world for missions and write about it.

I know and trust that God will show His face to me through this. That He will open me up to a world that is broken and in need of healing, but also a world that is ultimately HIS. Created for His glory and His purpose. I just want to shine His love.

So that’s the scoop, friends and fam! I can hardly believe it! The journey has just begun. There’s lots more to come, and I will keep you posted on the new life adventures of Jess. Love you all!

I’ll be sending out support letters soon…but for now, if you would like to begin supporting me, either go to my World Race blog and click the “Support Me” link, or click on the image below for details on how to support me. THANK YOU! 🙂

Categories: Awakening, Blogging, Dreams, Faith, Holy Spirit, Life, Ministry, Missions, Opportunities, Travel, World Race | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Well hello there, life change!

  1. Woo hoo!!!!!!

  2. Heather Longawa

    What exciting news Jess! This will be such an amazing time for you. Harnass everything God puts in front of you and He will reveal himself in BIG ways. The 1st step is obedience– then hang on for the ride!!!

  3. rocky92

    This is so inspiring, I’m really excited for you, Jess! Yay for Cambodia! 🙂 and the other countries will love you being there for them as well. You’re in my prayers!!

  4. So very cool, Jess! You’ll laugh that might second thought after “how cool” was “How will she ever pack for all of that?” 🙂 I can’t wait to hear more about it.

    • Tehehe, Nancy, I LOVE IT!!!! You totally made me laugh! That is such an epic response…don’t worry, I’ve thought that too, BUT I’m not too worried about it because I know it’ll all work out 🙂 Plus, I love to camp, which will help a LOT!

  5. Amy Balser

    I remember the day you posted about it on facebook. I’d thought about going on one of The World Race trips before that but I wasn’t ready for it. I remember your post and thinking, “I wonder how long it’ll take her to go on one of the trips?” I think I could see the love you had for the idea (and your love to reach poeple with God’s love). I am very excited for you, I’ll keep you and your team in my prayers.

    • Amy – WOW! I’m humbled that you remember back that far. I love that you thought that…turns out that you were right on! It was obviously only a matter of time 🙂 Thank you for the prayers!!!

  6. That’s so awesome Jess!! I’m so happy and excited for you and hope that you have an amazing time. I will definetly read your blog as you travel and I just know with your spirit and personality that you will show a lot of people that God is the way!!! Love you and my prayers will be with you:)

  7. Hey Jess –
    Those feet at the bottom look like my feet everyday here in Cote d’Ivoire. I’m SO excited for you. Steve and I have been in Africa for the last 8 weeks (we’re here for two years) and seriously, when you’re right smack dab in the center of God’s will, it doesn’t feel like a sacrfice. We love it here. It seems more like home then home does sometimes!

    I’m so excited to see what God shows you – I’m sad you’re not coming by our way, I would love to see you. I’ll be praying for you and talking to Steve to see if we can help you financially in any way – put me on whatever prayer list, support email, whatever way I can know how to pray for you. Support raising is a fun, frustrating, growing time!

    Keep me updated!
    Jessica Willman

    • My twin!!!! I had just looked at pictures a couple days ago and saw that you and Steve were in Africa and it made me really excited 🙂 I have no doubt that is what my feet will look like every day on the Race! I’m so happy that you guys are following the Lord’s leading and “right smack dab in the center of His will.” That’s just amazing and I can’t get enough of it! I would love to have you on my email/support list, wow, that means a lot. Thank you!!!

  8. Wendy Clark

    we are so excited for you and your journey!! love you jess!!

Now's your turn :) Leave me a comment!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.